Roadtrippin’

These past few days have been a whirlwind of packing up my whole life (a post on that [plus un-packing] to come), visiting with friends, and random business things (paying my first credit card bill, aka terrifying). Last Tuesday my friend and I went into Washington, D.C. to chase down the food trucks we’d heard so much about. Well, let me tell you, they are elusive little suckers. And it was raining. So while wandering around the Archives metro station trying to remember where Pret a Manger (one of the greatest British imports since tea, even though arguably tea is NOT a British import) was, we discovered Merzi. Merzi is Chipotle for indian food, and needs to open up a business in every city across the world. It might not be 100% authentic, but it’s good, cheap, and fills you up. Aka, worth it.

Anyway, it rained cats and dogs that day, so after wandering around a bit and a quick jaunt through the Museum of Natural History, we jumped back on the Metro and returned to the equally rainy ‘burbs.

Exhibit A and B of raining cats and dogs:

On Friday I hit the road for Richmond, meeting up with some fellow Historian gentlemen friends. We went to Busch Gardens and walked onto all the rides. Weekend after Labor Day, you Americans. Best time to go to amusement parks. Seriously, we walked on. Every time. It was magical.

I then drove down to Williamsburg, had a lovely breakfast with a lovely friend, then stopped in Charlottesville on my way home to have dinner with my sister and her husband (malai koftas. so good. why does nobody ever tell me these things?)

The goodbyes are getting harder, even if they aren’t for forever. I just keep reminding myself how lucky I am, and how exciting this all is, and what a rare position I’m in.

But it doesn’t make it easier, honestly.

outfit details:
raincoat: my mom’s from circa 1970s
bag: madewell, circa 2010
boots: Russell and Bromley, circa 2009

Leave a Reply

