Penny Pinch Tuesday

Penny Pinching is back!! (kinda)

I had intended to make this recipe for some friends, but school/the impending departures have gotten in the way. So! More for me, I suppose.

Ham-stuffed Baked Potatoes

My mom makes these on occasion during the winter. For years I refused to eat them. Lord knows why, it has everything delicious in it, and now I beg for them.

Like most things I prefer to make, it’s simple and doesn’t require too many extra ingredients (particularly if you’re a family and stock up).

For me, this recipe is more about eye-balling it than precise measurements. If you like onions, add more onions. If you’re nuts for garlic, go nuts with the garlic. Etc, so on, and so forth. Play around with it, have fun. I’ll just tell you what I did.

3 potatoes, rinsed and stabbed with a fork
1 tablespoon butter
1 ham steak (or, if you can’t read labels like me, 5 slightly thicker cut ham slices) chopped into bite-sized pieces
1/2 an onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, diced
1/2 cup sour cream
teaspoon salt
teaspoon pepper
parmesan cheese

Put the potatoes on a roasted pan covered in foil,* and pop into a 450 degree Fahrenheit (232 degree Celsius) oven for roughly 1 hour, or until cooked/tender.


(I’d rather not talk about how filthy that oven door is. All I’ll say is, I have nothing to do with it and it bothers me)

Pull out the baked potatoes and allow to cool so you can pretty much touch them. While they’re cooling, saute the ham, onions, and garlic in butter (in a medium sized skillet) until the onions are translucent.

When cool, slice the potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out the filling into a bowl. Save the skins (just put them back on the roasting tray). Mash the potatoes with the sour cream, salt, pepper, and ham/onion/garlic mixture.

Spoon the potato/awesome mixture back into its little shells/boats/skins, top with parmesan cheese (freshly grated) and pop back into the oven at 350 degrees fahrenheit (176 degrees celsius) for about 30 minutes or until the kitchen smells so good and you can’t wait anymore because it’s 8:30 and you’re hungry. Devour at will.

*Putting foil on your roasting pan makes clean-up SOO much easier. If you’re a lazy student like so many of us have the tendency to be, you could end up ruining a roasting pan by roasting too hard core, not washing it, and still using it. You cake in grease, vegetable whatever, and you WILL smoke out your kitchen at some point.

Stay tuned for more food posts this week, in a series called: I need to clean out my cupboards before flying home. yayyyy!!

Leave a Reply

