Happy Christmas (and Holidays)

I’m sure it’s pretty obvious that I’m on a Christmas hiatus. My sister and her husband are here to celebrate Christmas with us; they’ll be spending actual Christmas with her in-laws.

My last night in London before heading home I went out for a friend’s birthday. We hung out at the Somerset House ice skating rink, put on every year by Tiffany & Co. I don’t winter sport, but the rink was lovely and they served a damn tasty hot chocolate.

It had a very lovely glow to it, very glacial, which worked well with the stunning architecture of Somerset House. Imprisoned away in the history department we could look out the windows at everyone skating in the rink. It was nice to actually be out and about in the area ourselves.

And of course, they had a magnificent tree.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to everyone . . . I’ll see you next year!

Leave a Reply

