Penny Pinch Tuesday (Wednesday)

I’m trying, for various reasons and with various levels of success, to be more creative in the kitchen. By this, I mean that I’m trying to think more about what I have and create recipes, off the cuff, with what I’ve got.

So! Last week I made spaghetti with lemon juice, garlic, and salt and pepper. Now, this is not of my own inspiration entirely. I got the idea from a Pin on Pinterest, from the blog I Nom Things. However, I didn’t follow the link, I just looked at the picture said to myself, “This looks yummy” and pinned it to my board.

So when I was in my kitchen, scavenging for something to eat, I pulled out my spaghetti noodles, my last lemon, my olive oil, my salt and pepper, and did what I felt in my heart was right. Unfortunately it was so damn tasty I never got around to taking a picture Update: Lies! I totally did, see below.

Spaghetti with lemon, garlic, salt and pepper, and olive oil (my way)

fistful of spaghetti (how my mom taught me to measure a portion of spaghetti)
the juice of one lemon
1 glove of garlic, diced
a glug of extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper (to taste)

1. Put a pot of water on to boil, with a good pinch of salt (I use Maldon’s). When boiling, put in spaghetti and allow to boil until it reaches your preferred level of “done” (I like al dente).
2. Strain your cooked pasta, a set aside.
3. In the same dish (because having less dishes to clean is ALWAYS a bonus), put in your glug of olive oil and allow it to heat until it moves around the pan easily.
4. Add your diced garlic and saute (note: Obviously you don’t want deep-fried garlic, so adjust your levels accordingly)
5. Add the juice of the lemon, which should be the largest component of your dish (the ratio should be 1:1:2 for oil:garlic:lemon juice, if that makes sense?)
6. Allow the lemon juice to boil down a bit, making a more concentrated sauce. Add the cooked pasta and toss to coat, adding in salt and pepper to taste.

Again, hopefully this makes sense. I’ve never totally made something up before (although I’m sure this recipe exists somewhere, I’ve just never seen it . . .). Either way, it’s tasty and pretty damn cheap and cheerful. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

