Penny Pinch Tuesday

(source: google.com via my tumblr)

I’m sure I’ve said this before but oatmeal raisin cookies make me think of Winston Churchill. Not just because he was strong and dependable with just a hint of spice (and a bit of a mouthful) but because my mom always put her oatmeal raisin cookies in an old tin with Old Winny’s face on it. Go figure.

Anyway, a good cookie never does you wrong at time time so I decided to rustle up some cookies with this recipe from Eating for England, a food blog from an English ex-pat living in America.

This recipe was fantastic because I managed to cream the butter and sugar with my wooden spoon. Operating without a mixer is difficult (and operating without a food processor is bringing me to tears), so anything that works around that devastating loss makes me jump for joy.
Chilling the dough seems pretty significant, as she points out. I popped mine in our dinky refrigerator for about 30 minutes and it worked out well. They’re chewy and have just a hint of warmth from the cinnamon and the nuttiness of the oatmeal. As my English flatmate said “I love Americans.” No no, my dear.
Love Winston.

Leave a Reply

