PRB

Two weeks ago I went to the Tate Britain to see their exhibit ‘Pre-Raphaelites: Victorian Avant Garde.” And while I appreciate most kinds of art, the Pre-Raphaelites are the only paintings that I just adore so I was keen to go see what the Tate had on display.

The exhibit’s whole point was that the Pre-Raphaelites broke away from the conventional art of their period.  The rooms were broken up into different discussion points: religion, nature, narrative, etc. The curator’s did an excellent job of revealing all the interesting points that the viewer may not have known: that the other artists posed for each others paintings, the intricacies of the relationships between the younger students of the movement and their teachers as well as the women that surround them.

I wish there were pictures to go along with this post . . . but I never know if I’m allowed to take photos and even if I am I always feel bad or silly. The Tate Britain website has some of the paintings posted on-line, as well as some supplementary material about the Pre-Raphaelites and putting together the exhibit.

Leave a Reply

